top of page

Happy New Year!! It's 2017..What now?


Make It!

Well, here it is..2017! I am still in awe that we are in the '20' years, I am not sure why! Perhaps because I loved the 80's so much? lol! 2016 flew by as I mainly worked on planning our daughters November 12th wedding. I now consider myself quite an expert in wedding planning! A few pretty cool things happened, professionally speaking. I was asked to emcee the Gilbert Peach Festival Main Stage in between singing with The O'Kaysions, The band I sing with The Blue Pickups got to 'open' for Darius Rucker and The Atlanta Rhythm Section and perform for our SC Governor Haley at 2 events and I worked as an actor on a national Ashley Furniture commercial. Otherwise I I have tried my hand at network marketing and selling health insurance from home. I spent a few months training and making lots of phone calls from a headset in my bedroom, only to make one insurance sale that I am still not sure ever went through! Yeah, those things just weren't for me, as much as I needed the kind of money those other salespeople are making. I read a John Maxwell quote one time that went something like 'go wherever you have at least 85% talent and work from there.' Unfortunately I couldn't find a way to make the kind of money I needed with my singing, acting, music, teaching and art over the past several years, so I began to take on things that weren't part of my fabric. Have you ever done that? It's like total survival mode, 'do whatever it takes' kind of thinking. Perhaps that's a good thing, as I do believe it's in the trenches that we learn the most and gather up our strength and courage to do what we are really passionate about. As I continue to read my devotions each day, last year was Jesus Calling and this year The Confident Woman by Joyce Meyer, I know that God has called me to a higher purpose. Sooooo....along with God's help, I have decided that 2017 will be different! I have found a flexible, fun, professional way to support my craft and feel so blessed to be teaching English to children in China through ViPKid (You can, too, if you have a BA/BS http://teacher-recruitment.vipkid.com.cn/home.shtml?refereeId=3029920) A huge thanks to a teacher friend who called me about it just two weeks ago as I was setting my 2017 goals, isn't God amazing? And, throughout all of my busyness last year, I kept feeling Him nudge me to begin some type of mentoring program, perhaps for actors and budding entertainers, but I wasn't sure. I often reflect on my journey as an entertainer and wish that I could help others to avoid some of the pitfalls or ignorance that I felt along the way. I have also tried to help my 2 older children navigate their way in the acting world, (one local and one in Hollywood) and learned even more through their actor struggles & successes than on my own journey. I believe that God planted the seed in my head for my new mentoring/coaching/speaking venture "Be A Star Wherever You Are" which will be packed with celebrity interviews and how-to's and for my entertainment 'biography' of sorts which is coupled with advice for those who want to enter into this topsy turvy industry we call showbiz. The book title is "Make It", Working as an entertainer outside of the Big Apple & Hollywood and will be available on Amazon soon! I would love for you to join my email list to be one of the first to know when it is released! Just add the subject 'join'. Thank you for your continued support along the way and in the future! God bless you all in 2017 and beyond! Let's Make It!

xoxo

Kimberly Ann

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page